Reviews

What people are saying about Plas Dolguog Hotel




recomended - Rating 4/5

Plas Dolguog Hotel has a lovely position in the Welsh countryside. Lovely gardens, good food and comfortable bedrooms. Excellent wi-fi reception.

Reviewer:Mrs. Valerie Thompson | Sat 22nd Jul 2017


A magical experience! - Rating 5/5

Wonderful views, beautiful garden walk, excellent room facilities, a very different experience. This is a great base for exploring the local region

Reviewer:Lorie Jones | Wed 28th Jun 2017


Oasis of peace and tranquility - Rating 5/5

I have to admit, we couldn\'t find the hotel at first, but once we were directed, we turned in to this scene of calm.Beautiful old hotel with crooked floors, but comfy beds and amazing atmosphere.The dining room is really lovely and the garden and views outshone many more glamorous establishments.The staff were welcoming and friendly and the food was very good too.We hope to visit again in the future.

Reviewer:Alistair Robertson | Sun 4th Jun 2017


A most relaxing visit. - Rating 5/5

A lovely hotel, good food &very friendly staff, with fabulous views, the sound of the dawn corous was wonderful.

Reviewer:Doug Millington | Mon 22nd May 2017


Plas Dolguog Hotel- Rating 5/5

Lovely peaceful and relaxing stay. Setting and accommodation excellent. Helpful and friendly staff.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert Berzins | Fri 12th May 2017


Very relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

From the moment we came off the main road down the lane, this was different. The hotel has a long and fascinating history. No wonder Charles (one of the ghosts) passes you on the stairs. The proprietors and staff were not ghosts. They were helpful and pleasant. The evening meals were well prepared and served in a large conservatory dining room with a view to die for. There is a beautiful hand crafted table and chairs, flanked by a finely carved pair of eagles. The breakfast served with the same view was generous and well prepared.The extensive gardens are an extra delight. As you walk around you come across many different ways to appreciate the views across to the rivers and hills. Avoid this hotel if you do not like birdsong. You will not need an alarm call. I never tired of wandering round the garden or sitting out in the sunshine with a pint taking in the view. Our room was roomy and comfortable and had a balcony as a bonus. Don\'t miss the Wednesday market in Machynlleth which is only a few minutes away. We are looking forward to another visit

Reviewer:Michael Edwards | Fri 12th May 2017


M&E - Rating 4/5

We had a fantastic time at this hotel. The owner and staff were very attentive and also very lighthearted and amusing. The breakfast and evening meals were delicious. It is set in a lovely location and surrounded by a lovely garden. I would stay here again if I was visiting this part of Wales.

Reviewer:Ms. Marie Kiely | Thu 11th May 2017


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Highly recommend this hotel. Everyone I met during my stay made me feel welcomed and did everything to make the stay a truly wonderful experience.

Reviewer:Andy Skarbinski | Fri 5th May 2017


A Great Place to Stay and Eat - Rating 5/5

We stayed in one of the \"rooms with seating area\"adjacent to the hotel - just like a chalet which was perfect for us. Staff were all attentive and professional with a high level of service. Food was exceptional quality and great value, so we eat all our meals in. A GREAT WEEKEND

Reviewer:Wayne Reed | Mon 3rd Apr 2017


Very relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at Plas Dolguog The staff were all very friendly, the atmosphere very informal and relaxing but standards of service were very high. The food was excellent, plenty of it and lots of choice with the dinner menu changing daily. The weather was not very good so we didn\'t have chance to stroll round the gardens, so we\'ll have to come back!

Reviewer:Vivien Scott | Tue 21st Mar 2017


Relaxing weekend - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed staying at Plas Dolguog. The staff were all really friendly and the atmosphere very informal but efficient and well-organised. The food was excellent;the menu changed every day and the portions were ample. The weather wasn\'t very good so we didn\'t have the opportunity to stroll round the gardens, so we\'ll have to make a return visit!

Reviewer:Vivien Scott | Mon 20th Mar 2017


Plas Dolguog Hotel - Rating 4/5

We spent 2 nights here and we have to say that the whole experience was very pleasant. The staff were really friendly, the food was to a high standard and the room was great with a very comfortable bed. One thing that spoilt it slightly was the view from the bedroom window which was mostly the roof of the rear extension. But the patio area was a bonus ( the sun shined for a short while and we were able to sit outthere with a book and a cuppa) only problem was no view from that position. But otherwise a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith Ward | Mon 13th Mar 2017


Family weekend stay- Rating 5/5

We had a great stay at Plas Dolguog, a warm welcome when we checked in . A very clean and comfortable room within part of the annexe and we appreciated the comfy beds and pillows and we all slept well.We had a family room and there was plenty of room for the four of us.Breakfast was served in the restaurant, with a fantastic view of the valley. Brilliant choice of breakfast from full English to kippers, fruit and yogurt, something to suit all appetites and tastes .A great base for exploring the area or visiting family We will definitely stay again .Many thanks to Frank and the team .

Reviewer:Mr. Philip Blayney | Sat 14th Jan 2017


Frank is the man! - Rating 5/5

Stayed here with family attending a funeral. Frank went out of his way to make us feel welcome and took the time to speak with us to get to know us on a personal level. He sorted out taxis, gave us the best rooms, cooked us a special breakfast and made us feel at home. The location is peaceful and the views are open and even good in the rain. I\'m looking forward to staying again. Thanks Frank šŸ˜€

Reviewer:Mr. James Coley | Wed 14th Dec 2016


Amazing value for money - Rating 4/5

Hotel was very attractive.Very peaceful.Room was spacious but cosy.The lovely atmosphere was matched by the very lovely included breakfast.Staff very pleasant &helpful.Looking forward to staying again sometime.

Reviewer:Roger Higgins | Mon 12th Dec 2016


Family function. - Rating 5/5

We had booked two nights to attend my Uncles Funeral in Mach and the Hotel hosted the afternoon buffet and evening refreshments.The Manager, Frank, was fantastic, very personable with a hands on approach and he had surrounded himself with exceptional staff that would go the extra mile when asked, on a very busy and full day.On top of that, the Hotel is in a stunning setting with beautifully appointed rooms.We shall definitely return to this Hotel, not only for the viewsbut for Frank and his staff!Kev &Nina Powe

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin Powe | Mon 28th Nov 2016


Very friendly in beautiful location - Rating 5/5

We had a really good stay in the Dolguog. Frank, the manager, is a super approachable and helpful guy, that will make your stay welcome and pleasant. We had a free upgrade as there were some spare rooms. It was clean, warm, spacious and we loved Frank\'s sense of humour. Thank you very much!

Reviewer:Stephanie John | Fri 11th Nov 2016


Very good- Rating 5/5

We met one princess in this hotel named sharlot. She was so friendly. Natural scenarios from the hotel is stunning. Every thing was clean and perfect. Want visit again. Thanks

Reviewer:MOHAMMAD ISLAM | Tue 8th Nov 2016


Nice place - Rating 4/5

Nice place to stay. Very picturesque. Good food resonably priced. Would stay there again.

Reviewer:Mr. Allan Kintigh | Tue 1st Nov 2016


Interesting stay - Rating 4/5

Beautiful situation a mile from the main road, surrounded by wonderful countryside. Staff very welcoming. Hearty breakfast and evening meal very good. Rooms in need of refurbishment but very clean throughout hotel. Hotel has loads of character. Thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Barbara Sedgeley | Sun 30th Oct 2016


Comfortable warm stay - Rating 4/5

Just what we needed for an overnight stay. Good welcome, comfortable beds, lovely evening meal and bar. Some updating needed in places.

Reviewer:Jane Beebe | Sat 29th Oct 2016


Short Visit - Rating 4/5

Very good visit to your hotel. Good welcome and friendly manager and staff. Excellent breakfast and evening meals. Noted the improvements being made to the furnishing and carpets etc. We liked the bedroom but would advise that the balcony could have been made more welcoming. Old empty flower pot,wet chairs and weeds. Small point as generally the stay was very good and we would definitely book this hotel again.

Reviewer:John Jones | Mon 24th Oct 2016


Trail riding weekend - Rating 5/5

Frank and his staff could not have been more helpful. The rooms and breakfast were top notch. Thanks for letting us use a room to get changed in after we checked out it was very kind. Had a great weekend.

Reviewer:Mr. COLIN Adams | Mon 17th Oct 2016


Delghtful Country Retreat. - Rating 5/5

In the Autumn sunshine I found my 2 day stay at Dolguog \'heavenly\'. Surrounded by fantastic views, &Peace full gardens I felt comfortable &the most relaxed I have been for years. The service &quality of the hotel werevery good &personally I could have not asked for more in a country retreat.

Reviewer:Anne Critchley | Sun 9th Oct 2016


lovely stay - Rating 4/5

We had a very relaxed stay at Plas Dolguog on Tuesday night.WLovely setting to have breakfast. Great nights sleep too. Will definitely stay again when in the area of Machynlleth.

Reviewer:Jim Brace | Thu 6th Oct 2016


You\'ve like to go back - Rating 5/5

Good, peaceful, friendly forthcoming staff

Reviewer:Hans Ringmacher | Tue 4th Oct 2016


Lovely hotel, breakfast and gardens - Rating 4/5

This property is set on beautidul gardes. Rooms were comfortable and breakfast was good.

Reviewer:Judith White | Sat 1st Oct 2016


Relaxing stay - Rating 4/5

Very spacious room in the stables, only marred by the annoying rattling head board on the bed.Excellent restaurant with a good variety of dishes.Beautiful gardens which were very therapeutic.

Reviewer:Mrs. Yvonne Tomey | Sat 1st Oct 2016


One night stay - Rating 4/5

Great place, nice &tranquil. Lovely welcoming &relaxed approach. Good sized clean room with easy access.

Reviewer:Ian Greenwood | Sat 1st Oct 2016


Great find will be back - Rating 5/5

Great welcome, lovely garden walk, fantastic meal cooked to perfection , dog made welcome, beautiful surroundings

Reviewer:Laurence Davies | Tue 20th Sep 2016


Recent stay at Plas Doluog - Rating 4/5

very pleasant stay, clean, comfortable, and lovely breakfast. PLumbing noises, and twin rather than double, mix up, but minor inconveniences which did not spoil our stay,staff extremely helpful and friendly, lovely views and exceptional situation .

Reviewer:Penny Holdsworth | Sun 18th Sep 2016


the four tenors - Rating 5/5

excelant in all ways,peaceful,clean,helpful staff ,very friendly,food&drink very good,we will certainly be returning.

Reviewer:Colin Jones | Thu 15th Sep 2016


Great stay- Rating 5/5

Lovely setting very comfortable beds and friendly greeting

Reviewer:Susan Stimpson | Fri 9th Sep 2016


Hotel - Rating 5/5

All good, we would definitely choose Plas Dolguog hotel again for its friendly atmosphere and peaceful and quiet surrounding. On top of that great food. Great value for money would definitely recommend it to our friends.

Reviewer:Krzysztof Stopka | Mon 29th Aug 2016


Very welcoming staff - Rating 4/5

Recently stayed here for a family wedding. Lovely quaint hotel in beautiful surroundings, the view from our room balcony was sublime.Although the decor is tired in places it is being revamped.Staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming - nothing was too much trouble for Frank and Tina particularly, as well as the owner. Good breakfast and a lovely bar room.All in all a great stay!

Reviewer:Peter Carpenter | Mon 29th Aug 2016


love this place - Rating 5/5

we had a fantastic stay here, the staff are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble. its a very peaceful place and we cant recommend it enough

Reviewer:Ian Hughes | Tue 23rd Aug 2016


pleasant stay - Rating 3/5

Frank and the staff made our stay very pleasant. The gardens and the view are simply stunning, the dining room and food were great. Given the age of the property we expected \"rustic\"but whilst clean everywhere, room was rather tired, a bit of tlc here-and-there would have enhanced the experience

Reviewer:Michael Sercombe | Sat 20th Aug 2016


Pleasant and welcoming stay - Rating 5/5

A nice guest house, good value for money, nice food and very pleasant owners.

Reviewer:Tom Smith | Tue 16th Aug 2016


Great hotel - Rating 5/5

Beautiful location. Clean comfortable rooms. Friendly helpful staff. Excellentfood. Great value for money. Happy to recommend this hotel

Reviewer:John Delamere | Tue 16th Aug 2016


Lovely setting - Rating 4/5

Beautiful location. Friendly helpful staff working hard to improve this lovely old hotel. Lots of history. Comfortable, spacious clean room.

Reviewer:Jane Gresham | Mon 15th Aug 2016


A real gem - Rating 5/5

Beautiful Hotel , excellent views, friendly staff, a large room and bathroom, evening meal was huge but delightful, breakfast was great. Being allergic to dogs I was a little worried when I noticed pet friendly after I had booked but I didn\'t need to it was immaculately clean. We will be back.

Reviewer:Fiona Walker | Sat 23rd Jul 2016


Stay for graduation Aberystwyth university- Rating 4/5

Absolutely fantastic stay. Upgraded free of charge upon arrival. Mums ordered surprise flowers for my partner delivered in perfect condition. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The view from room 7 was magnificent and the room itself was just as nice. Everything was perfect l, except maybe the weather but that would be asking too much of the hotel to sort the Welsh weather out!

Reviewer:Jac Hughes | Sat 16th Jul 2016


peaceful paradise fantastic gardens - Rating 5/5

Beautiful hotel withworks of art which great thought put into them .My room was lovely ,breakfasts were great you could have a four courses .Beautifully cooked and served .

Reviewer:Margaret Morton | Tue 12th Jul 2016


Excellent in every aspect - Rating 5/5

A delightful hotel surrounded by beautiful gardens in a fantastic location. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Our family included vegetarians and vegans and the hotel made every effort to satisfy their tastes. I would highly recommend it and would certainly go back

Reviewer:James Timson | Fri 1st Jul 2016


Great view - Rating 4/5

We really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and friendly welcome, will return to explore the area. Good value and great views/gardens.

Reviewer:Antony Purser | Sat 4th Jun 2016


Hotel Review - Rating 5/5

Nice hotel in lovely gardens with beautiful views and friendly staff.

Reviewer:Mr. DAVID JONES | Sat 4th Jun 2016


Lovely hotel in gorgeous surroundings - Rating 5/5

My partner and myself booked in for 3 nights.The room was a nice ground floor suite with a room containing a sofa, tea making facilities and a door to our personal little patio with a table and chairs overlooking the garden. The breakfast was lovely with lots of choice and including cooked meals. The restaurant was great for evening meals in the conservatory.The reception, restaurant and bar staff were wonderful and couldn\'t do more for us.A lovely, restful few days in beautiful weather. We would be happy to visit again.

Reviewer:Peter Szekely | Thu 2nd Jun 2016


Comfortable room and good facilities in lovely setting - Rating 5/5

Well appointed large room in converted stable block. Restaurant had very good food with good views over the large garden and distant hills.We had stayed in the town of Machynlleth before when needing a bed in the area but will always try here in future. This last minute booking was very good value.

Reviewer:Pat Wileman | Mon 30th May 2016


One night stay - Rating 4/5

Beautiful surroundings. Pleasant room. Very clean. Staff very obliging. Would definitely go again.

Reviewer:Linda Parker | Mon 23rd May 2016


Lovely Hotel - Rating 5/5

Myself and a friend, who are members of the RSPB decided to go and look at the Ospreys the drive up was breathtaking along the Welsh cost. The hotel was sign posted well and we where welcomed, by rows of bluebells and a beautiful river. On arrival we noticed the David Bellamy award, birds sang Swallows rained down on us. We got to the room, clean and tidy, didnt spend a lot of time there straight out, the first night we went to the town and it had little to offer, the second night we stayed at the hotel and had dinner the weather was superb so we sat outside watching the Sunset, with a beer and a beautiful steak, we walked along the Grandmas garden which is an enchanted experience as a photographer I took a lot of photos of the Hotels surroundings, more then the Ospreys we where there to see, the breakfast was also beautiful after being woken by the dawn chorus of birds singing, like a scene from a disney film. The food is top notch and I would go back here again, my friend, bought a lot of lottery tickets to try and buy it lol. Ideal wedding location also, thoroughly recommended.

Reviewer:Christopher Gale | Sat 14th May 2016


Single night stay - Rating 5/5

Fabulous location and what a view

Reviewer:Neil Poulton | Sat 14th May 2016


Our Wales tour - Rating 5/5

Having driven for 6 hrs to arrive at a peaceful friendly family run hotel was perfect. We received a warm welcome, relaxed with a beer then wandered through Grandmas garden. The view across the valley was lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening meal and they even offered to prepare a dish that wasn\'t on the menu!! Our batteries were fully recharged for the next day.We would be very happy to visit again

Reviewer:Dr. Gary Aram | Mon 9th May 2016


From the drive in to the drive out;a most pleasurable stay. - Rating 5/5

We came to stay at Plas Dolguog Hotel for the Machynlleth Comedy Festival as the location was ideal with only a half hour walk in to the centre of town;where the festival was taking place.We were very impressed with the hotel and our room, which was a perfect base to travel in from. We were concerned that we we would be returning to the hotel late as a lot of the shows were on past midnight, however there was no issue and it was welcomed as the hotel had guests that were both acts in the festival and festival goers.The grounds of the hotel made for a tranquil stay with no road noise and only bird song.The staff were very friendly and helpful, always available and couldn\'t do enough for us.At breakfast there was a wide range of choice and the food was of a high quality.We reserved a room for next year\'s festival on our departure and this is a testament to how much we enjoyed our time at Plas Dolguog Hotel.

Reviewer:Mrs. Emma Williams | Fri 6th May 2016


Lovely, idyllic hotel - Rating 4/5

I stayed here with a friend for 2 nights for the Machynlleth Comedy Festival and I found the hotel lovely. It was in beautiful grounds and was about 30 mins walk from the centre, very pleasant walk. The room was great and bigger than expected. The staff were pleasant and happy to help - for example we were able to check-in early which was great as we had shows booked. I\'d recommend to anyone.

Reviewer:Catherine Stanley | Tue 3rd May 2016


A fabulous hotel - Rating 5/5

A lovely hotel with wonderful scenery. The staff were all welcoming,helpful and friendly. The meals were great and reasonably priced. I would definitely go there again

Reviewer:Lorna Silke | Mon 18th Apr 2016


Looking forward to visiting again! - Rating 4/5

Only stopped the one night but the hotel was lovely and everyone was very pleasant.We had a lovely meal in the evening and breakfast was just right.Will definitely try to come back soon.

Reviewer:Miss. Kimmarie Johnson | Thu 7th Apr 2016


Great location and friendly staff - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff and a amazing location,rooms tidy and comfy,i really enjoyed my stay,will be booking again.

Reviewer:Jamie Hunt | Sun 27th Mar 2016


Lovely place - Rating 4/5

Friendly staff, nice location with stunning views at Breakfast.Room was clean, tidy and comfortable.Would I stay again - Yes

Reviewer:Richard Boreham | Thu 17th Mar 2016


Jan 16 - Rating 4/5

Very quiet and comfortable for my overnight stay, slept like a log.

Reviewer:Julie Hunt | Wed 20th Jan 2016


Wonderful magical place to stay - Rating 5/5

It is beautiful. Very good to stay. Meals are very good. There is a lovely garden with a river by it. The sheets and bed are so good , sheets are smooth and nice. A good room with sofa and a real fire in it. The nicer place i had stayed in.

Reviewer:Eleanor Llewelyn | Tue 19th Jan 2016


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Fantastic helpful staff, checked in 2 hours early due to bad weather on the rally Wales gb room was ready for us when we arrived, we had a great steak dinner in the restaurant !!Room was comfy,clean and warm. We will be back next year, hoping for some better weather though.

Reviewer:Mark Hickling | Mon 16th Nov 2015


First Stay at Plas Dolguog - Rating 5/5

A great welcome, lovely room and facilities very friendly staff.Hope to stay again in the future and long may the staff continue their great service with the support of Jenny who\'s attention to detail made the stay even more pleasent

Reviewer:Mr. Brian Wayne Thomas | Mon 16th Nov 2015


Autumn break - Rating 5/5

Warm, welcoming, dog friendly, family run hotel.Beautiful and characterful setting with lovely garden.

Reviewer:Jan Cash | Thu 5th Nov 2015


Seclusion, quiet and wonderful views. - Rating 5/5

What a pleasure to stay at this establishment. I was spoilt by having an afternoon to wander around Grandma\'s garden and watch otters in the river too. My room was ideal, warm, comfortable and with everything that I would need. It has one of those beds you know it will be hard to leave!Evening meal and breakfast were all freshly made and tasted amazing. The use of locally sourced food will have helped here too. LLaeth Y LLan yoghurts were sumptious!I was able to request an early breakfast (had to get to work for 8am), and this was sorted without question. This is how all hotels should be!

Reviewer:Wendy Hook | Sun 1st Nov 2015


Return to Wales - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant hotel in a very large well maintained garden. It\'s always nice when dogs are allowed and made welcome.

Reviewer:David WAGSTAFF-MYERS | Mon 31st Aug 2015


shame one night only - Rating 5/5

only stayed one night,enjoyed every moment ,made welcome by the very friendly staff who did everything that was asked of them with a smile.room was clean and comfortable,floor very uneven but one must expect that its 400 years old!restaurant was quite quiet on the night,service was very good and the food excellent.will definitely come back!the grounds are superb could spend a whole day there.

Reviewer:Ian Martin Lewis | Fri 28th Aug 2015


A very warm and friendly welcome - glorious setting - Rating 5/5

Stopped off here for one night on a cycling trip in North Wales. Welcome couldn\'t have been more helpful - Menu very flexible - and ideal for us. View across the valley is fantastic.

Reviewer:Anthony Chapman | Wed 19th Aug 2015


stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary and to attend a wedding in the area to - Rating 5/5

Lovely friendly staff, food fab, even catered for me gluten free, we stayed in the anex clean but en suite little tired, (tiles need new grout). Would we stay here again? Most certainly yes šŸ˜Š.

Reviewer:Bev Williams | Mon 17th Aug 2015


90th birthday party - Rating 4/5

This is very comfortable hotel with polite attentive staff. Bathrooms are well appointed, tho the water pressure is a little on the light side. Everything else good. Food good.

Reviewer:Mr. Grant Shipcott | Tue 30th Jun 2015


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

This is our second visit to this hotel. It certainly didn\'t disappoint. Beautiful room with 4 poster bed! Very comfortable! The staff in the hotel are very welcoming. The food is very good too! Will definitely return. The gardens have matured since our last visit and are very beautiful. We were sorry to hear of the passing of Grandma of grandmas garden fame.

Reviewer:Liz Birch | Mon 22nd Jun 2015


Fabulous Place - Rating 5/5

The place is lovely and the staff very friendly.The food was good and the room in the Stable Block was excellent.I appreciated the free wifi.

Reviewer:Pauline Brind | Sun 21st Jun 2015


What a find - Rating 5/5

Found this hotel on an Internet search which is always a bit of a lottery but this time we hit the jackpot. This is an old 17th century hotel with quirky rooms and sloping creaky floors. Our room (6) was bright and airy, clean and a good size. The balcony with fantastic views was an added bonus. Dinner and breakfast were good and the staff were friendly and attentive. We were sad we were only staying one night, but will go back. Can definitely recommend this hotel

Reviewer:Stephanie Durrant | Mon 15th Jun 2015


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed at this hotel last month and would thoroughly recommend it. Staff were more than helpful and so friendly. Tina welcomed us like old friends, and Anthony, Jenny and Rob provided a great service. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was excellent.We stayed in the annex and it was wonderful. Our own little sitting room and a door out to a patio. Really comfortable. Having just had a hip replaced, it was ideal for me. No stairs and a walk in shower. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Janette Taylor | Thu 11th Jun 2015


Lovely rural retreat - Rating 5/5

Having struggled to overcome the \'two nights only at weekends\' we opted for a night here and weren\'t disappointed. Warmly welcomed we were then shown to our room which was really nicely decorated, great facilities and a balcony with fabulous views. We enjoyed a drink in the wonderful garden before a great dinner in the airy conservatory. Breakfast was excellent and set is up for the day. We were sad to leave but will be back soon. The only small issues were with the water pressure and the wifi connection. Looking forward to returning!

Reviewer:Mr. Stuart Thomas | Mon 8th Jun 2015


A delightful short break - Rating 4/5

We had a warm welcome to this charming and quirky hotel set in a stunning location, enhanced by its lovely gardens. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and well-equipped, though the en-suite showers were awkward to set to temperature and water pressure was low - perhaps to be expected in a building of this age.With attractive bar and lounge areas and an airy conservatory restaurant with great views and a varied menu we didn\'t even look elsewhere for our evening meals, and took our pre-dinner drinks in the garden with the dog. A very relaxing place to stay and thoroughly to be recommended!

Reviewer:Judith Oughton | Thu 28th May 2015


Absolute tranquility. - Rating 4/5

Lovely surprise finding Grandma\'s garden at this quirky and lovely hotel. Well worth a visit.

Reviewer:Susannah Blakeley | Mon 25th May 2015


A lovely stay during the comedy festival. - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant. We\'ll be back next year.

Reviewer:Mr. Liam Williams | Tue 5th May 2015


amazing place to stay - Rating 5/5

I have just returned from staying here for the weekend. What a fantastic place, the rooms are big with comfy beds and a lovely bathroom, breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. All the staff here are very friendly and helpful and to top it off you have the most beautiful views. Would definitely recommend to friends and family and I can\'t wait to return.

Reviewer:Natalie Ellis | Mon 4th May 2015


Excellent hotel- Rating 5/5

Hotel is set in a stunning location. The rooms and comfortable, quiet and clean. The staff make you feel at home and can\'t do enough for you. The owners are one of the nicest couples, who also make you feel at home and nothing is to much trouble. We would recommend this hotel to anyone. We will be going back to Plas Dolguog Hotel whenever we can.

Reviewer:Charles Braddick | Thu 30th Apr 2015


Hotel first class - Rating 5/5

Hotel set in the best location I have ever seen, beautiful gardens and the best views of the Welsh countryside ever at the rear of the hotel, will be difficult to better.

Reviewer:Duncan Smith | Mon 20th Apr 2015


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

The hotel is in a lovely setting. We felt at ease in the old building which has a peacefuland eco-friendly atmosphere and were grateful for a free upgrade to a larger than anticipated room. Apart from problems with water pressure in the shower, which made it difficult to regulate the temperature, we found the room very comfortable, clean and spacious. We walked off the excellent full breakfast with a walk around Martha\'s gardens.

Reviewer:Steven Beesley | Sat 18th Apr 2015


review title - Rating 4/5

A pleasant couple of days in a lovely location, and an interesting rambling building.

Reviewer:Mr. Derek Grainger | Thu 16th Apr 2015


Nice hotel - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our short stay at the Plas Dolguog. We were made to feel welcome and the hotel had a nice feel to it. The rooms were clean and the food (dinner and breakfast for us)was all good.

Reviewer:Steve Bryan | Tue 14th Apr 2015


Trail riding in Wales - Rating 5/5

When we have our weekends in wales motorcycle trail riding there is no better place to stay, the owners and staff could not be more helpful and accommodating the hotel has the most impressive views and excellent accommodation.

Reviewer:Mr. PeterGamble | Mon 13th Apr 2015


An Excellent Stay in a great rural hideaway - Rating 5/5

We spent one night in Room 1, a room with balcony in the main house. The room was spacious, with a lounge area and en-suite bathroom. The room was clean, and pleasantly furnished. The staff were excellent, and could not be more helpful! We will definitely be looking to stay here again!

Reviewer:John Thornton | Tue 31st Mar 2015


Beautiful hidden gem - Rating 5/5

We picked this hotel as it had rooms available and was near to Machynlleth.What a lucky choice. The room was beautiful with a balcony and view over the immaculate gardens.Dinner and breakfast were well cooked. My only complaint is that electrical showers do not give a good flow of water;please fit a proper shower!However the toels passed the fluffiness test.Why was the hotel not full?

Reviewer:Mr. Russell Benstead | Mon 23rd Mar 2015


Lovely place ā€“ nice people - Rating 4/5

Lovely place ā€“ even in the Welsh rain ā€“ and very welcoming. Iā€™d like to see it, and the garden, in the sunshine ...

Reviewer:Mark Ellingham | Mon 15th Dec 2014


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Disabled
  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • Bridal Suite
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding Functions